Home Topstories Controversial censor chief sacked

Controversial censor chief sacked

Saturday August 12th 2017

Pahlaj Nihalani, who turned the censor board into a precinct of serial controversy, has been removed from the post of Central Board of Film Certification chairperson. His successor is famous lyricist-adman Prasoon Joshi, while  Vidya Balan,  Gautami Tadimalla, Narendra Kohli, Neil Herbert, Vivek Agnihotri, Naresh Chandra, TS Nagabharana, Ramesh Patange, Vani Tripathi, Jeevitha Rajasekhar and Mihir Bhuta  join the board. The Ministry of Information & Broadcasting on Friday replaced  Controversial Censor  board Chairperson Pahlaj Nihalani with Bollywood lyricist-screenwriter and ad guru Prasoon Joshi as the chairperson of the censor board.


In the statement, the Information and Broadcasting Ministry said, that Prasoon J Joshi was appointed as Chairperson of the Central Board of Film Certification in an honorary capacity from 11th August, 2017 for a period of three years or until further orders.


Since Nihalani took charge on 19th January 2015, controversies over censorship cropped up regularly. Vociferous protests following his decision to recommend 89 cuts in  Alia Bhatt’s ‘Udta Punjab’, besides demanding that the reference to the state be removed. Similar protests erupted last month when the CBFC refused to certify Alankrita Shrivastava’s ‘Lipstick Under My Burkha’, saying that it was a “lady-oriented” film  which  contained “Audio Pornography”. Pahlaj also refused to clear the word ‘Intercourse’ in Shahrukh Khan’s recently released film, Jab Harry Met Sejal. Pahlaj had also proposed to ban actors from smoking on-screen and issued  A certificate to any movie that had scenes featuring alcohol consumption.