PV Sindhu 1st Indian to Win BWF World Tour Finals

PV Sindhu 1st Indian to Win BWF World Tour Finals

PV Sindhu became the 1st Indian to win the season-ending tournament – BWF World Tour Finals 2018.

The Olympic silver medalist PV Sindhu made history by becoming the first Indian to win the BWF World Tour Finals at Guangzhou, China on Sunday, 16th December. The Indian superstar has beaten Japan’s leading player Nozomi Okuhara with 21-19, 21-17 in the final to claim her first title of the year.

Victory hands PV Sindhu her 14th career title, but a first at a BWF World Tour event.

For PV Sindhu and her fans, this victory means a lot as she had lost in the last 7 finals she had played, which included the World Championship final, Commonwealth Games final, Asian Games final and even last year’s BWF World Tour Finals.

On Sunday i,e 16th December, in Guangzhou, China, that streak ended and the colour of the medal around her neck turned to yellow. With a 21-19, 21-17 win over Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara,  PV Sindhu also became the first Indian shuttler to win the gold at the year ending tournament which pits the top-8 ranked players in the world.

This is PV Sindhu’s first title this year 2018. She has become only the 2nd player in the history of women’s singles to have not won any title in the year before winning the season-ending finale, after Wong Mew Choo of Malaysia in 2009.

PV Sindhu will next be seen playing PBL season 4, which starts from 22nd December.