Telangana Elections polling starts

Telangana Elections polling starts

Telangana Elections 2018: Polling is being held in 119 constituencies in Telangana, India’s newest State, on Friday i.e 7th December. The Congress-led Praja Kutami also comprising the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the Telangana Jana Samithi and the CPI are taking on the ruling Telangana Rashtriya Samiti (TRS) who are allied with the AIMIM. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is also contesting the elections in the southern India.

The Voting has started in the Telangana assembly elections but the start has been marred by glitches in Hyderabad, Pedapalle, Karimnagar and Khammam.

Over 2.8 Cr voters, 1.41 Cr men and 1.39 Cr women including 7.04 lakh voters under the age of 20, will exercise their franchise in 32,815 polling stations across Telangana.

Chief Electoral Officer of Telangana, Dr Rajat Kumar, said that mobile phones wer not allowed inside polling booth. He added that selfies were also not allowed near the polling booths

Polling gets delayed by 1 hour at two booths in St. Paul’s Hi-Tech school at Kutbiguda under Amberpet constituency as EVMs failed. The Polling agents of various parties are demanding the extension of polling by 1 hour.

Nalgonda MP Gutha Sukender Reddy and Telangana Rashtriya Samiti (TRS) candidate N. Bhaskar Rao cast their vote in Miryalaguda.

Shuttler PV Sindhu, Akkineni Nagarjuna, Stylish Star Allu Arjun are casting their votes.  They have already reached at the Poll booth.

Akkineni Nagarjuna and Amala Akkineni stand in queue to cast their votes at booth number 151 in Jubilee Hills, Hyderabad. Whereas Allu Arjun is at booth number 152 of Jubilee Hills.