HomeMovie NewsKarnataka election results live: Kumaraswamy is the next CM of Karnataka?

Karnataka election results live: Kumaraswamy is the next CM of Karnataka?

Karnataka election results live: Kumaraswamy is the next CM of Karnataka?Karnataka Election Results 2018 Live Updates:  As Bharatiya Janata Party failed to reach the majority mark (112) in Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018,  Congress has announced support to Janata Dal Secular (JDS).  Senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said, ”We had a telephonic conversation with Deve Gowda and Kumaraswamy. They have accepted our offer. Hopefully, we will be together.”

Karnataka (222 out of 224 seats)


 Party                         won       Leading    Total

 BJP                             88          16              104

 Congress                   66           12              78

Janata Dal (Secular) 34            3                37

Bahujan Samaj Party 1             0                1

Independent              0             1                1

Others                         1             0                1

Total                           190         32             222

JD-S spokesperson Danish Ali said, “It is crystal clear that it will be Kumaraswamy for the Chief Minister’s post. With the blessings of the people of Karnataka, he will be the Chief Minister .”

Abhijit Majumder tweeted, “And there is nothing wrong if Congress and JDS join hands to form the govt despite BJP being the single largest party by far. ‘People’s verdict’ is built into what the Constitution technically allows. Goalposts can’t shift from Goa, Manipur, Meghalaya. #KarnatakaVerdict

In a surprise announcement, the Congress and the JD(S) announced plans to meet the governor and stake their claim to form the government, while the BJP met the governor to seek a week’s time to prove their majority in the Assembly.

Live updates:

6: 19 pm:BJP Parliamentary board will meet at 7 pm in New Delhi following the Karnataka polls.

6:04 pm: BJP CM candidate BS Yeddyurappa announced that he too will meet the governor along with Union Minister Anath Kumar to stake claim to form government.

6:02 pm: Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee President G Parameshwara said the party had requested the governor to invite it to form the government in alliance with the Janata Dal (Secular). It is now up to the governor.

5.45 pm:  HD Kumaraswamy, Congress Siddaramaiah, Ghulam Nabi Azad, DK Shivakumar wait inside Raj Bhavan to meet the governor.

5.30 pm: HD Kumaraswamy reaches Raj Bhavan to meet the governor.

4.29 pm: HD Kumaraswamy wrote a letter  to the governor seeking an appointment between 5.30 pm and 6 pm on Tuesday.

4.24 pm: The Congress and JD(S) combined have 115 seats, while the BJP has 104.


Top Stories

View All


View All