HomeMovie NewsKumaraswamy - Karnataka Chief Minister to face floor test today

Kumaraswamy – Karnataka Chief Minister to face floor test today

Kumaraswamy - Karnataka Chief Minister to face floor test todayKumaraswamy– The Karnataka Chief Minister is going to face a floor test  today on Friday  to prove his majority.

H D Kumaraswamy had won from two constituencies. BJP’s B S Yeddyurappa, who was sworn in as the chief minister on 17th May, had stepped down  2 days later in the face of defeat without going through the motions of floor test.


With the support of the JD(S)- Congress coalition, he is expected to smoothly sail through this floor test. On 23rd May 2018, H.D. Kumaraswamy was sworn-in as the chief minister of Karnataka and during the oath ceremony event, he showed his confidence about winning the floor test, but said he had an apprehension that the Bharitya Janatha Party (BJP) would try to repeat “Operation Kamala” to bring down his government.

The term “Operation Kamala” or “Operation Lotus” was coined in 2008, when the Bhartiya Janatha Party state chief B S Yeddyurappa took over as the chief minister.

Over the last nine days, the Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress lawmakers have changed hotels twice. While the Congress lawmakers are currently lodged at Hilton Embassy Golflinks at Domlur, Bangalore the Janata Dal (Secular) lawmakers are staying at Prestige Golfshire Resort off Devanahalli on the outskirts of City Bengaluru.

 It seems BJP  hasn’t given hope of forming the government in Karnataka. Shobha Karandlaje, a BJP parliamentarian from the state and an aide of Yeddyurappa  said, “We are 100 % sure we will be able to form government.” Yeddyurappa resigned just two days after taking oath as CM. The Bhartiya Janatha Party leader accused the Congress of hijacking the ‘People’s Mandate.

Congress’ Ramesh Kumar has been unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Karnataka Assembly. BJP’s nominee Suresh Kumar backed out of the race.

Here are the numbers at a glance before the floor test:

BJP: 104

Congress: 78

JD(S): 37

BSP: 1


Independent: 1

The magic number is 111


Top Stories

View All


View All