Friday, October 22, 2021
HomePOLITICSKamal Haasan loses to BJP candidate

Kamal Haasan loses to BJP candidate

Kamal Haasan loses to BJP candidate
Kamal Haasan loses to BJP candidate

The three way fight at Coimbatore South saw a photo finish, with Bharitya Janatha Party‘ Vanathi Srinivasan eventually emerged the winner. Vanathi Srinivasan won by a razor thin margin of 1540 votes. In the tightly fought race, Kamal Haasan of Makkal Needhi Maiam came 2nd in the race to the Legislative Assembly while Mayura Jayakumar of Indian National Congress came third. This will be Vanathi Srinivasan’ first stint as an MLA in Tamil Nadu. Kamal Haasan  lost by fewer than 1,800 votes to BJP .

MNM- Makkal Needhi Maiam founder and the versatile actor Kamal Haasan, who made his electoral debut with the Tamil nadu assembly elections, made a surprise move by choosing the Coimbatore as his constituency whereas he was expected to contest from Chennai.

- Advertisement -

Kamal Haasan on Sunday lost Tamil Nadu’s Coimbatore constituency to BJP’ Vanathi Srinivasan by a thin margin of 1,540 votes, in the state assembly elections. The EC declared the result after 26 rounds of counting.

After the 2008 delimitation, the Coimbatore (South) constituency was formed. The Coimbatore South constituency elected AIADMK’s R Doraisamy as their first MLA in  the year 2011.

AIADMK’s Amman K Arjunan was elected as constituency’s representative in the state legislative assembly in 2016.

Subscribe us on Tollywood - Google News



Top stories

View All

Most Read