KCR takes Oath as Telangana Chief Minister

KCR takes Oath as Telangana Chief Minister

KCR (K Chandrashekar Rao) took oath today as the Chief Minister of the country’s youngest state- Telangana for the 2nd time after storming back to power in the recent set of assembly elections.

KCR was administered oath by Governor ESL Narasimhan at a ceremony on the lawns of Raj Bhavan.

Along with KCR, party MLC Mohammed Mehmood Ali, who was deputy chief minister in the previous TRS government, also took oath as a minister.

TRS  (Telangana Rashtra Samithi) won the Assembly polls in the state Telangana by a landslide on Tuesday, and on Wednesday, KCR was unanimously elected as the leader of the Legislative Party.

TRS party bagged 88 out of 119 seats in the elections. The Prajakutami (People’s Alliance), forged by the Congress, Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Telangana Jana Samithi and CPI, won 22 seats with a combined vote share of just under 32 per cent. The AIMIM won 7 seats, Independents 2 and the BJP 1.

KCR won from Gajwel, and the members of his family also won with a significant majority. KTR, the son of KCR won with a margin of over 88,000 votes in Sircilla. Harish Rao, KCR’s nephew and the former Irrigation Minister, won with the margin of over one lakh votes in Siddipet.